Organizational Structure

Our school is organized around the principle that those educators working directly with the students are responsible for the pedagogical decisions and policies of the Charlottesville Waldorf School. As is customary in Waldorf schools, the Charlottesville Waldorf School is governed by a three-fold structure comprised of the Board of Trustees, which is responsible for legal and financial matters, the College of Teachers, which is responsible for pedagogical matters, and the Administration, which is responsible for the day-to-day running of the school.

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES operates according to the Bylaws of the Charlottesville Waldorf School, Inc. Membership is drawn from current parents, faculty, staff, alumni parents and friends of the school who reflect the varied composition of our school community and have expertise related to our school’s strategic initiatives. We work in collaboration with the College of Teachers to forward the mission and vision of our school.

The Board establishes financial policies, oversees the development and implementation of the school’s budget, sets tuition rates, and develops long-range plans to support the continued health and growth of CWS. The Board has several standing committees, including Budget & Finance, Financial Aid, Long Range Planning and Membership Committee, and may establish temporary committees and task forces to accomplish specific tasks.

For the 2018-2019 school year the members of the Board are:

  • Cyndy Caughron, Treasurer
  • Natasha Copeland, Secretary
  • Michael Corbett, Vice Chair
  • Ted Jones, Chair
  • Derek Mansfield
  • Chris Russ
  • Carlos Saviani
  • Michael Wright

THE COLLEGE OF TEACHERS is a group of faculty and staff, which serves as the governing body of the school’s pedagogy. Its primary mission is to nurture and support the ideals of Waldorf Education within the school. The College meets weekly and works collaboratively and through consensus. The members work closely with the Board of Trustees, administration, faculty and staff in the development of new programs, long-range plans, and improvements to school governance.

For the 2018-2019 school year, the College members are:

  • Summer Anderson
  • Sue Horne Lim
  • Virginia Masterson
  • Chris Russ
  • Michael Wright

THE ADMINISTRATION is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the school. The administrative staff carry out the decisions and standing policies of the Board and College and strive to serve the needs of the faculty, parents and students.

For the 2018-2019 school year, the Administrative staff members are:

  • Andrea BostromInterim Administrative Chair
  • Cyndy CaughronBusiness Manager
  • Josh ChapmanAdvancement Director
  • Anne CoynerEarly Childhood Development Coordinator
  • Lorie HenryLibrarian
  • Sarah PevehouseEnrollment and Community Coordinator
  • Shane PevehouseFacilities Manager
  • Devynn ThomasOffice Manager
  • Michael WrightFaculty Chair, 8th Grade Teacher